Signalert: Customisable & Extensible Notifications – Alerts Exactly Where You Need Them

Some time ago, I wrote that it was difficult to get into the Open Source community. Well, today, I’m officially announcing the release of my first open source project.

Signalert

In my day-job, we required a solution to easily store and utilise alert notifications. The present method only allowed us to trigger alerts from the immediate view stack, but sometimes, we may be working on a deep-dark part of the process, not related to the current view, and we may wish to trigger one.

Thus, I built an in-house solution that allowed me to easily post notifications from anywhere in the backend, and render them on the front end. This was called, simply, ‘Notifications’ – because I’m an inventive guy.

However, this didn’t sate my appetite for developing a full notifications system. I looked at areas in the current architecture that could do with a re-work, and areas where I could expand to give new functionality, and I conceived Signalert.

What does it do?

It allows you to quickly, and simply, post messages to a notification stack, and retrieve them at any point within your view.

What’s the Unique selling point (USP)?

Customisation.

By default, it uses the standard PHP Sessions to store the data, but this can quickly and easily be expanded to fit within your architecture if, for example, you use Memcache, Redis, or even Database storage, instead of the PHP Sessions. I’ve provided architecture for you to add your own Storage Drivers, which dictate how alerts are stored, and how they are arranged for rendering.

Also, as well as the Storage medium, I’ve allowed customisation of the Renderer, which prints it to the screen. Do you use Bootstrap, Foundation or any number of other layout frameworks? I’ve provided architecture for you add your own Renderers which dictate how alerts are printed out to the screen.

Learn more about Signalert

Signalert: Customisable & Extensible Notifications – Alerts Exactly Where You Need Them

Leave a Reply

